Have you registered for the New York STAR Registration Program? 8 Facts to Get You Started!

The New York STAR exemption is the tax property tax break available for owner-occupied, primary residences where the combined income of resident owners and their spouses is $500,000 or less.  This year there’s been some changes to the STAR program and you must act soon in order to not lose your exemptions!

These 8 facts will help yo understand what you must do:

  1. New legislation requires all homeowners receiving a Basic STAR exemption to register with the New York State Tax Department in order to receive STAR exemptions starting in 2014 and from then on.
  2. As a result, you do not have to register in order to receive your 2013 STAR exemptions.  These changes will begin in 2014.
  3. You  only have to register once.  You do not need to re-register every year. Based on the information provided in the registration process, the Tax Department will monitor homeowners’ eligibility in future years.
  4. You can register online or by telephone.
  5. To register online you will need to:
  • provide a STAR code (you will be receiving your code in the mail code or you can use the STAR code lookup)
  • provide the names and social security numbers for all owners of the property and spouses
  • confirm that the property is the primary residence of one of its owners (married couples with multiple residences may only claim one STAR exemption)
  • confirm that the combined income of the owners and their spouses who reside at the property does not exceed $500,000
  • confirm that no resident owner received a residency-based tax benefit from another state

Click in the button below to register:

Register Online

6. To register by phone call (518) 457-2036

  • Monday – Friday, 8:30 am – 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, 9:00 am – 1:00 pm

7. Registration started on August 19, 2013 and will continue through December 31, 2013.

8. Senior citizens receiving Enhanced STAR benefits are not affected by the new registration requirement, which applies to Basic STAR benefits only.  Seniors must, however, take steps to ensure that they continue receiving Enhanced STAR.

Seniors receiving Enhanced STAR who reside outside of New York City must continue to:

Seniors receiving Enhanced STAR who reside in New York City will be contacted by the New York City Department of Finance when they need to renew.

For more information

Leave a Comment